Day 12 Magic Practice (People Who Made a Difference)

All of us have come across some person or other who has made a huge positive impact in our lives. We might not have realised the value of this person back then, but over the years, and looking back, we see that it was a certain person who inspired us to be where we are today.

It might be a teacher, an uncle or aunt, a neighbour, a counselor, nanny, it could be anyone who instilled within you a seed of faith about your ability to do something and it spurred you on to explore and excel in this endeavor.

Your task is to be grateful for this person. Probably, you have lost contact with the person concerned, or you would feel awkward approaching him/her at this point, or whatever the situation may be.

But you can still have an imaginary talk with this person. In fact, choose three people whom you are truly grateful for, and tell them why you are grateful to them, and how their involvement in your life has made a huge positive difference in where you are today.

For me, this person is my best friend, so mine will like something like this:

Thank you, Y, for being a true friend to me. So many people had given up and turned their backs on me, but always, you remained faithful and steadfast at my side. Just by doing so, I learned to love myself, because I knew that at least one person out there cared for me. You cared and believed in me so much that I started learning to love and like people, enough to want to improve their lives too and inspire them, to never give up, and that every day is a second chance. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Do the same with two other people who made a huge impact on your life. According to the author of ‘The Magic’ it is best to ‘speak’ to all three chosen persons in a row, because that will amplify the feeling of gratitude.

And as the LOA states, the more you feel gratitude, the more it multiplies.

Leave a comment